Ottawa, Binghamton re-up through 2019

The Ottawa Senators announced today that the club has extended its American Hockey League affiliate agreement with the Binghamton Senators for four additional seasons following the final campaign of its existing agreement of 2014-15.

The renewed term will see the B-Sens remain as Ottawa’s top affiliate through the 2018-19 season.

“We’ve been very pleased with the development of our young players who have progressed through Binghamton over the last number of seasons,” said Senators general manager Bryan Murray. “Having a strong affiliate that gives our players the opportunity to learn how to be a professional and the chance to compete to win each and every night is a tremendous asset to future of our organization. We’re very pleased to know they will be our affiliate for five more seasons.”

“This relationship is great for Ottawa on a number of levels,” said Randy Lee, Ottawa Senators assistant general manager and general manager of the B-Sens. “Binghamton’s proximity to Ottawa and our great working relationship with the B-Sens ownership team made extending our agreement with them something of significant importance to us. We look forward for a number of great seasons to come.”

The B-Sens, who are led by former Ottawa defenseman and assistant coach Luke Richardson, have served as Ottawa’s primary affiliate since 2002. Of the players who concluded the 2013-14 campaign on Ottawa’s roster, Erik Condra, Jared Cowen, Colin Greening, Eric Gryba, Mike Hoffman, Robin Lehner, Zack Smith and Patrick Wiercioch were members of Binghamton’s 2011 Calder Cup-winning club.

As recently as last season, current Ottawa Senators Cody Ceci, Mark Stone and Mika Zibanejad each spent playing time in Binghamton.