Texas, Toronto to clash for West crown

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … The American Hockey League has announced the schedule for the Western Conference Finals series in the 2014 Calder Cup Playoffs.

The Texas Stars, top affiliate of the NHL’s Dallas Stars, will face off against the Toronto Marlies, top development club for the NHL’s Toronto Maple Leafs, in a best-of-seven series for the Western Conference championship and the right to play in the Calder Cup Finals.

Western Conference Finals – Series “N”
1-Texas Stars vs. 3-Toronto Marlies

Game 1 – Fri., May 23 – Toronto at Texas, 8:30
Game 2 – Mon., May 26 – Toronto at Texas, 8:30
Game 3 – Wed., May 28 – Texas at Toronto, 7:00
Game 4 – Thu., May 29 – Texas at Toronto, 7:00
*Game 5 – Sat., May 31 – Texas at Toronto, 3:00
*Game 6 – Mon., June 2 – Toronto at Texas, 8:30
*Game 7 – Tue., June 3 – Toronto at Texas, 8:30
    *if necessary… All times Eastern

The Western Conference Finals matchup was finalized tonight with Texas’s 7-1 victory over the defending champion Grand Rapids Griffins in Game 6 of their conference semifinal series. Toronto eliminated the Chicago Wolves, four games to none, in the other West semifinal.

In the Eastern Conference, the St. John’s IceCaps will face either the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins or Providence Bruins in the conference finals. Wilkes-Barre currently leads Providence, three games to two.

In operation since 1936, the American Hockey League continues to serve as the top development league for all 30 National Hockey League teams. More than 88 percent of all players competing in the NHL are AHL graduates, and through the years the American Hockey League has been home to more than 100 honored members of the Hockey Hall of Fame.