AHL Man of the Year team winners announced

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … The American Hockey League announced today the individual team winners of the American Specialty/AHL Man of the Year awards, selected by their respective clubs for their outstanding contributions to the local community and charitable organizations during the 2009-10 season.

From this list of finalists, representatives from American Specialty and the AHL will choose the winner of the 2009-10 Yanick Dupré Memorial Award. The AHL’s annual Man of the Year award is named after the late Yanick Dupré, who died in 1997 at the age of 24, following a 16-month battle with leukemia. Dupré, an AHL All-Star in 1995, played four seasons with the Hershey Bears, registering 169 points in 207 AHL games. He also skated in 35 NHL games with the Philadelphia Flyers.

This year’s winners of the American Specialty/AHL Man of the Year awards are:

David Van der Gulik, Abbotsford Heat
Logan Stephenson, Adirondack Phantoms
Matthew Pistilli, Albany River Rats
Paul Baier, Binghamton Senators
Pascal Morency, Bridgeport Sound Tigers
Brett Sterling, Chicago Wolves
John Vigilante, Grand Rapids Griffins
Eric Neilson, Hamilton Bulldogs
Brodie Dupont, Hartford Wolf Pack
Bryan Helmer, Hershey Bears
Matt Kassian, Houston Aeros
Brock Bradford, Lake Erie Monsters
Mike McKenna, Lowell Devils
Drew Bagnall, Manchester Monarchs
Guillaume Desbiens, Manitoba Moose
Ryan Maki, Milwaukee Admirals
Ty Wishart, Norfolk Admirals
Lars Eller, Peoria Rivermen
Derek Whitmore, Portland Pirates
Kevin Regan, Providence Bruins
Rory Fitzpatrick, Rochester Americans
Bracken Kearns, Rockford IceHogs
Josh Tordjman, San Antonio Rampage
Colin McDonald, Springfield Falcons
Jordan LaVallee-Smotherman, Syracuse Crunch
Landon Wilson, Texas Stars
Darryl Boyce, Toronto Marlies
Mark Letestu, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins
Mike Moore, Worcester Sharks

The winner of the 2009-10 Yanick Dupré Memorial Award will be announced in the coming weeks.