Boston, Providence extend affiliation for 10 years

The Boston Bruins announced today that the organization has agreed to a 10-year partnership agreement with their American Hockey League affiliate, the Providence Bruins, through the 2028-29 season.

The P-Bruins have served as the American Hockey League affiliate for Boston since their inception in 1992, making the 27 consecutive season affiliation between Boston and Providence one of the longest standing player development agreements in either league’s history.

“Player development is one of the most important parts of our hockey operations strategy which has the goal of achieving long term and sustainable success,” said Bruins President Cam Neely. “Our partnership with the Providence Bruins has been a key part of our player development over the past three decades and we are very happy to have a long-term deal solidifying this relationship for 10 more years.”

With the P-Bruins serving as the primary pipeline for Boston, more than 200 players that have spent time with Providence have played for the big club as well. Current Boston players that have developed in Providence include Tuukka Rask, Brad Marchand, Patrice Bergeron, David Pastrnak, David Krejci, Torey Krug, Jake DeBrusk, Danton Heinen, Charlie McAvoy, Sean Kuraly, Matt Grzelcyk, Noel Acciari, Brandon Carlo and Kevan Miller. Providence also has a history of developing future NHL coaches, including current Boston head coach Bruce Cassidy.

“The Providence Bruins are a top franchise in the AHL. Community engagement, attendance success, competitive excellence, and player development for the NHL are the pillars on which AHL success is measured,” said David Andrews, President and Chief Executive Officer of the American Hockey League. “Congratulations to the Providence Bruins and the Boston Bruins on extending their long-standing partnership.”

“We are excited to be partnering with the Boston Bruins and RI Convention Center Authority for another 10 seasons of Providence Bruins hockey in Rhode Island,” said Providence Bruins team owner H. Larue Renfroe. “I want to thank the Boston Bruins, the RICCA and the American Hockey League, as well as our devoted fans and corporate partners.”

Since 1992, the Providence Bruins have won five division titles and three regular-season league titles. They have qualified for the postseason 21 times and won the Calder Cup in 1999. In that same span, the Boston Bruins have won seven division titles, two Eastern Conference championships and the 2011 Stanley Cup.