Miller is Goalie of the Month for January

The American Hockey League announced today that Ryan Miller of the Rochester Americans has been named the Koho AHL Goaltender of the Month for January. In 12 starts last month, Miller posted a record of 9-2-1 with a 1.57 goals-against average, a .951 save percentage and three shutouts, leading the Amerks into a tie for first place overall in the AHL.

Miller made 27 saves in a 4-2 win at Philadelphia on Jan. 2 before posting consecutive shutouts, turning aside 32 shots in a 1-0 shootout victory in Edmonton on Jan. 6 and 30 shots in a 1-0 win over Cincinnati on Jan. 12. He closed out the month just as impressively with back-to-back 42-save performances – in a 5-1 win in Cleveland on Jan. 25 and a 4-2 win at Hamilton on Jan. 26 – then tying a franchise record with his sixth shutout of the season in a 27-save effort against Binghamton on Jan. 28. Miller was named the winner of the CCM Vector/AHL Player of the Week award on Jan. 31.

In recognition of his achievement, Miller will be presented with an etched crystal award prior to an upcoming Amerks home game.

A native of East Lansing, Mich., Miller is in his third season with the Amerks after three stellar years at Michigan State University, where he captured the Hobey Baker Award in 2001. With just three losses in his last 23 decisions (18-3-2), he has taken over the AHL lead in wins (25) and shutouts (6) while ranking second in minutes played (2,244), third in saves (1,098) and fourth in save percentage (.933). Miller’s 25-11-2 record and 2.11 GAA have helped the Amerks to the best record in the AHL’s Western Conference, and he has been named to the PlanetUSA team for the upcoming 2005 Dodge AHL All-Star Classic.

Other nominees for Koho AHL Goaltender of the Month include Ray Emery of Binghamton, Wade Dubielewicz of Bridgeport, Frederic Cassivi of Cincinnati, Tyler Moss of Edmonton, Steve Valiquette of Hartford, Mike Smith of Houston, Cam Ward of Lowell, Mathieu Garon of Manchester, Alex Auld of Manitoba, Brian Finley of Milwaukee, Michael Leighton of Norfolk, Kirk Daubenspeck of Portland, Travis Scott of San Antonio, Jamie Storr of Springfield, Karl Goehring of Syracuse and David LeNeveu of Utah.