Whitfield named Player of the Month

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … The American Hockey League announced today that Providence Bruins center Trent Whitfield has been named the Reebok/AHL Player of the Month for March. Whitfield scored 12 goals and added 10 assists for a league-best 22 points in 13 games during the month.

Mired in a five-game drought entering March, Whitfield found the scoresheet in 10 consecutive contests from Mar. 4-25, a streak that began with two goals and an assist in a 4-2 win over Charlotte. He scored twice more and added two assists on Mar. 6 to lead Providence over Bridgeport, 6-0, and later would score a goal in four straight outings from Mar. 18-25, capped by a two-goal performance that included the game-winner in a 4-2 decision at Worcester. Whitfield wound up with a point on 22 of Providence’s 39 non-shootout goals scored during the month (56.4 percent).

In recognition of his achievement, Whitfield will be presented with an etched crystal award prior to an upcoming Bruins home game.

Whitfield missed the first three months of the season after suffering an offseason Achilles injury, but has totaled 17 goals and 16 assists for 33 points in 40 games since his return, including a team-leading seven power-play goals. In 709 career AHL games during his 13 professional seasons, Whitfield has registered 230 goals and 334 assists for 564 points. The native of Alameda, Sask., has also skated in 193 NHL games in his career with Boston, St. Louis, the N.Y. Rangers and Washington.

Other nominees for Reebok/AHL Player of the Month include Adirondack center Ben Holmstrom, Binghamton right wing Roman Wick, Bridgeport right wing Rhett Rakhshani, Charlotte center Zach Boychuk, Chicago right wing Darren Haydar, Connecticut defenseman Pavel Valentenko, Hamilton left wing Nigel Dawes, Houston right wing Jon DiSalvatore, Lake Erie center Ben Walter, Manchester right wing Oscar Moller, Manitoba defenseman Mark Flood, Milwaukee center Chris Mueller, Norfolk goaltender Dustin Tokarski, Oklahoma City right wing Mark Arcobello, Peoria right wing Graham Mink, Portland right wing Mark Parrish, Rochester defenseman Mike Kostka, Rockford left wing Rob Klinkhammer, San Antonio right wing Mathieu Beaudoin, Syracuse left wing Patrick Maroon, Texas forward Greg Rallo, Toronto goaltender Ben Scrivens, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton forward Bryan Lerg and Worcester right wing Tommy Wingels.